Report on the 2017 Show — Our 30th Annual

Here’s a brief recap of the results of our annual Art Show and Sale, August 11-13, 2017, part of the Aurora Colony Days celebration and held at Christ Lutheran Church.

A total of 92 artists entered 197 pieces of work.  Of these artists, 35 were children and other young people.  While we saw many “old friends”, we also met new ones — artists who had not entered our show before, or who were new to art or at least to showing their art in public.  There was a first-time and large representation by North Marion High School students.

A nice geographic distribution of artists – Corvallis, Oregon City, Newberg, Sandy, Dundee, Aurora, Portland, Hubbard, Tigard, Clackamas, Wilsonville, Beavercreek, Tualatin and Sandy.  Plus Hamburg, Germany – that’s 15 cities.  (Hamburg is the result of a diligent mother entering the work of her daughter who lives there.  Word DOES get around.)

Best of Show Award — Vern Skogen of Canby for “Carved Wood Duck”
Townsend Award for Student Art — (2 separate awards) Kayla Golka of Aurora for “Words of Love” and Daisey Pastrana Morales for “Erika”
People’s Choice Award – Jan Glenn for “Tara”
(All prizes above funded by the Aurora Arts Association)
Featured Artist — Matthew Eveleigh of Aurora
Judges — Alexandra Opie of Salem and Brian Rogers of Salem and Mary Lou Zeek of Salem
First Prizes — Jesse and Trang Lawler for Photography, Mary Weil for Pastel, Vern Skogen for 3-D, Eric Wechter for Acrylic, Sharla Sevy for Watercolor, Ian Graham for Print/Drawing/Graphic and Lynn Brush for Oil Painting
Second Prizes — Brynn Carter, Brad Isom, Justin Leonard, Pamela Quataert and Cec Sheoships
Third Prizes — Frederick Jones, Jennifer Graham, Richard Miller and Lyallyn Temple
Honorable Mention — Jan Glenn, Russell Glenn, Sara Leonard, Michael Muldoon and Colleen Vancil

Special Thanks To — Roberta Hutton (and Tia and Miguel), Mercedes Roden-Feeley, Larry Townsend, Ginny and Tom Stevens, Lyallyn Temple,  Sara Bailey, Josie and Otto Hyde, Jackie Ensign Snodderly, Spud Sperb, Elisha Wettstein, Jan Glenn, Ailsa Medlicott, Billie Kaiser, Barry Causey, Erica Dally, Bob and Susan Foster, Ron and Mary Van Kleef (and Alina), Ted Heid, Julene Trigg, Pastor Craig Johnson (and Christ Lutheran Church staff), Mayor Bill Graubb (and the City of Aurora), John Baker (and the Canby Herald) and John Berard

Comments are closed.